top of page
  • Writer's pictureDeJane' Hill

3 Ways to Honor your Loved Ones at your Wedding

Losing a loved one can be a devastating time in life – trust me I understand. But honoring them after they have transitioned is what’s more important to me. My mother transitioned in 2015, then my uncle (whom I share the same birthday) in 2016 and my maternal grandmother followed in 2020. I’m also an intuitive mindset coach and holistic healer- so working with families during their grief is something I’m very passionate about in this lifetime.


With that said, I’ve transitioned that element into my wedding design business. Yes!! I help families honor their loved ones during their most memorable occasion – their wedding day! In honoring your loved one at your wedding, it’s more than just placing a photo in a chair. It’s about ensuring their energy is invited lovingly invited to your celebration is embraced by all. You’re talking about having a good time then – energy is the purest form of love!


When I’m working with clients whose parents are no longer living on this side -they have a sadness within that I aim to replace with love if only for a few hours on their BIG day. I do this by simply connecting with them using my intuitive gifts to sense how they feel when speaking of their loved one(s) and I begin to draw a vision in my mind of those feelings and finally, I write, sketch, and/or draw my ideas out on paper!


Creativity is a gift! So why not use it to our advantage right? I wanted to share a few examples of you can honor loved ones at your wedding or even a special event in honor of them!


1. Have their favorite playlist at your reception! I mean all their favorite songs too! Especially if your loved one was anything like my mother, who loved music with her soul, they will enjoy the festivities more than anyone else there. And you’ll have flashbacks of pleasant memories with them which completely enriches your night. Something irreplaceable and transformation if I had to say so myself!!


2. Prepare a reserved table just for them with a beautiful arrangement and place settings. And you have to serve them their favorites as well – this table can be smaller and displayed in a sacred manner so will not be disturbed. Of course, candles would be a must! They will not only appreciate your efforts but feel welcomed and honored and be a blessing to your new union!


3. Now this one will take some graphic design assistance for sure! But the last one I think is the dopiest way to honor a loved one - Create a photo display celebrating those who have passed. Old wedding photos are a lovely touch!



P.S. Need a little wedding planning boost??? Download my free Wedding Budget Calculator to help you stay on track during your planning stages!


Click HERE to get your FREE WEDDING BUDGET CALCULATOR!


P.S.S. Did you find this blog post valuable? Please share with someone that'll find this wedding resource valuable as well - thanks in advance!






Blessings,


DeJane' Hill, Creative Event Strategist

Office Tel: 404-438-1388


"Turning Events into Experiences"


bottom of page